New men’s shoes (sculpted)

September 21, 2007

Here they are, called Tritones. I think this one is my favorite color (for now):

Male avatar feet are horribly fat and miserable to work with, so to create a half-decent shoe shape, I decided to require smaller foot sizes. There are 3 sizes, for foot sizes 0, 15 and 35. The 35s look good on the biggest avatars I have in my collection. Really, you wouldn’t want the shoes to be any bigger than that because they’d look stupid. Anyway there are demos for all sizes and colors so you can see them for yourself.

Seven colors are available, for L$300 a pair. As always, permissions are copy/no transfer/no modify.

The other colors and some sculpty stuff follow…

These are 10 sculpted prims each. For comparison, my older City Walk shoes are 42 prims each. I didn’t bake textures with lighting and shadows; I decided that cartoony look of my old suede textures suits this style. I did bake out the patterned bits. There was too much distortion when the original textures were applied ‘cold’, so I used projection mapping in Maya to fix that.

5 Responses to “New men’s shoes (sculpted)”


  1. *kisses you* bless you bless you bless you =^.^=

  2. Forseti Says:

    very very nice work 😀

  3. Tillie Ariantho Says:

    Wow, those look great. 🙂

  4. Jane Says:

    Hi, I’m trying to get in touch with Fallingwater Cellardoor of Shiny Things and hope I’ve come to the right place. I’m producing a discussion about women and Second Life for BBC Radio 4 and wonder if you would be able get in touch with me via email and leave me a number where I can contact you. Many thanks Jane Worsley

  5. flopsie Says:

    so, like a womens version is coming…. *subtle nudge*


Leave a Reply

